HOMEGROWN

Celebrate the culture of agriculture & share skills (Growing! Cooking! Eating!)

Whatchoogot? I'm skeeved out by the source of traditional rennet and would prefer an alternative if I'm to make my own cheese. I'm a complete newby, but am thinking about gifting home made mozzarella for the holidays.

Tags: rennet, vegetarian

Views: 1622

Replies to This Discussion

Hi Cornelia,
Mozzarella, in my experience, needs rennet to do it's thing.
However, you can make soft cheeses like chevre' and fromage blanc without the addition of rennet using direct set 'bacterial' starter cultures. They are easy and fast. Instant gratification, you might say, in a cheesy way ;)( And I have to say, from experience, tiny chevre rounds rolled in fresh chopped herbs makes a gift that is not soon forgotten)
The right milk is also another matter...farm fresh milk is best, pasteurized yourself. Utra-pasteurized and homogenized milk from the store just will not work, regardless if it's organic or not. It's basically a lifeless product.
I order my direct set cultures from cheesemaking.com...Rikki Carroll's book HomeCheesemaking might answer some of your 'skeevy' questions...or call or email her through the website. She is very accessible. Oh and she does sell a variety of organic vegetable rennet products (liquid, powder, tablets) check it out!

Susan
I typically order from New England Cheesemaking at cheesemaking dot com, they have the best prices . I started out with Ricki's cheesemaking kit for making mozzerella and it was so easy I've been making it every week for pizza night.
Whoo hoo! Mozzarella kit ordered - thank you!

Fostermamas said:
I typically order from New England Cheesemaking at cheesemaking dot com, they have the best prices . I started out with Ricki's cheesemaking kit for making mozzerella and it was so easy I've been making it every week for pizza night.