HOMEGROWN

Celebrate the culture of agriculture & share skills (Growing! Cooking! Eating!)

This 101 comes from HOMEGROWN’s flock tender and resident tamal fiend, Jennifer. Got a favorite filling of your own? Shoot her a note and let her know.

Full disclosure: I'm a German-French-Scottish-Irish mutt who wanted to make tamales for the holidays—a traditional activity among families of Hispanic descent in my home state of Texas. In other words, I'm no expert. And yet, while the following 101 is not based on a recipe passed down from generation to generation, it is proof that, if I, an inexperienced husker, can make tamales, anyone can make tamales.

For those unfamiliar with the humble tamal, I’m sorry to say you’ve been missing out. We’ll fix that. (And yep, a single specimen is a “tamal”; the “e” gets added to pluralize “tamales.” Grammar lesson of the day.)

A tamal is something of a cross between an empanada and an enchilada: a handheld street-food snack composed of a filling (exhibit A: spicy pork) inside a pocket of decadently soft and moist corn meal called masa, which is in turn surrounded by a corn husk. You unwrap the tamal from the husk before eating; the husk acts as an insulation blanket and flavor conduit while the tamales steam. You can read more about the history, culture, and preparation of tamales in this recent article from the New York Times.

Because we had invited friends over to help assemble our tamales—a get-together known as a tamalada—and because one of those friends is a vegetarian, we prepared two kinds of filling: veggie-friendly roasted peppers with cheese and a not at all veggie-friendly but deliciously spicy pork. These innards were fine sitting in the fridge until the next day. We also soaked the dried corn husks—available from Latin American groceries and, sometimes, from Whole Foods—overnight.