HOMEGROWN

Celebrate the culture of agriculture & share skills (Growing! Cooking! Eating!)

Contributed by Matthew and Brandi of yearroundharvest.com. Thanks, guys!

If you've never enjoyed home-canned peaches, I urge you to try them. Nothing brings back the warm days of summer like the taste of a peach in the middle of winter. Sure, you can buy canned peaches at the supermarket, but I have yet to find any that come close to those preserved at home at the peak of ripeness.

I have been canning peaches for the past several years. I still consider myself a novice but I've learned some things along the way that could be helpful. In my opinion, canning yields a more user-friendly result than freezing peaches. Frozen peaches tend to be rather mushy when they thaw. For some applications (e.g., baby food, purées, etc.), that's not a problem. But for use in pies, cakes, or just for eating, I think canning is the way to go. It's a bit time consuming but well worth the effort.

We are lucky enough to live near a family-owned and -operated orchard that practices environmentally safe pest control. We purchase a variety of fruits from them year-round and have found the quality to be far superior to anything in the grocery store. If possible, I recommend buying from a local grower. You might save money and you will most likely end up with a more flavorful product.

The first step in the canning process is allowing the peaches to ripen. Lay the peaches on a flat surface in a single layer, leaving a little space between each one (see above). Check the peaches daily by giving them a gentle squeeze; you can always sample one or two to check their progress. You want the peaches to be ripe but not overripe. We chose Red Haven peaches because it's a stone-free variety that is firm and flavorful.